On the Pathway from A.C.E. to MBA and Beyond

A.C.E. staff met with Ko-Hsin, currently a Level 6 student at the A.C.E. Language Institute at Seattle Pacific University, for a fun question and answer session about her pathway toward studying in the MBA program at SPU.
IMG_0950

(L to R) Director Tim Healy with A.C.E. students Ko-Hsin and Chi

A.C.E.: So, why did you choose A.C.E.?

KH: Actually I applied to SPU for their MBA program (technology information), but I didn’t have time to prepare for the TOEFL or other standardized tests. After working with my advisor in Taiwan, based on my work experience and GPA, they recommended I finish A.C.E. Level 6 first, then transfer to SPU.

A.C.E.: What was your background in before you came to A.C.E.?

KH: That’s pretty complicated (laughs). Well, at first, when I started in college, I was going to be a teacher. But I switched gears after I recognized that it’s not my purpose. I had taken some business classes during the four years, and after graduating went to a company to work as an Executive Assistant for 3 or 4 years.

A.C.E.: So you had some good experience at home and decided to come here (SPU) for the Master’s degree?

KH: Yeah. My last job was working for a company doing marketing in the U.S. and I had a chance to travel in the U.S. I realized that English is so important, and that the world is so wide. So I decided to study English harder. I first went to Atlanta for around four or five months, then transferred to a different program. After I finished the program, however, I realized that my English level wasn’t enough; I need to learn more. I also want to stay with Chi (Ko’s husband who’s also studying at A.C.E. SPU), so I decided to apply to the graduate school at SPU.

A.C.E.: What do you like about A.C.E.?

KH: Well, A.C.E. is like family, really. We were both studying at another program, and it was so big. We changed classes every hour, with different classmates and different teachers. Here at A.C.E. we have one class and two teachers. We know each other very well, and even celebrated one of our classmate’s birthdays! We have dinners at teachers’ homes as well.

We also found that A.C.E. is really hard!   I have been in three different language schools, and A.C.E. is definitely the most difficult.  We’d never done poster sessions, or other kinds of presentations until we got to A.C.E. When we started at Level 4, for our classwork we had to conduct a survey and do interviews, as well as a PowerPoint presentation. Now, we do a lot of presentations in class.

A.C.E.: That’s good practice for your future courses at SPU?

KH: Yes, it really is. Doing my undergraduate degree in my home country, I realized that presentation skills would be a very important skill for me to succeed in the future.

A.C.E.: When you were in Taiwan deciding where to go, did you work with an advisor? What was that like?

KH: The first time I met with my advisor, she asked me, “Well, what do you want?” And I had to think of a list of things, what type of programs I was interested in. Then she asked, “Public or private school? What part of the U.S. – east, west, north, south?” So I laid out all the conditions I had, and she helped me narrow down the list by my grades, my work experience…and not having to take the GMAT or TOEFL if possible. When I was studying at another program, I didn’t know anything about SPU. But when I got here, I really fell in love with SPU.

A.C.E.: Well, we’re definitely glad to have you here! Thanks Ko-Hsin!

Leave a Reply

