A.C.E. Student from Haiti Highlights Her Year in Montana

Randy Pierre Louis recently graduated from A.C.E. Language Institute at Montana State University.  A Global UGRAD Scholar through World Learning from Haiti,  Randy created an inspiring video summarizing her experience studying in the United States to share with her new community.  Read below to see Randy’s story, told from her perspective.

Hi!

My name is Randy Carlie Pierre-Louis. I’m from a wonderful island named Haiti. It’s located in the Caribbean. I enjoyed the beaches there and fresh fruits. I am studying Agroforestry in American University of the Caribbean in my hometown Les Cayes in the South part of the island. One year ago, I applied for a scholarship at World Learning organization. I was accepted out of the millions of other applicants at Montana State University. I spent my first semester at A.C.E for improving my English language. The teachers at A.C.E. were very patient with me and nice. A.C.E is more than studying your vocabulary and doing your listening homework. A.C.E. is a family. There is a connection between students and teachers. Moreover outside the classes, during your English practice with other American people, you always feel welcome! They taught me to not be afraid to make mistakes, so I can learn. I learned a lot from both sides. I discovered the culture, the humor, and the beauty of the territory. In fact, my next step is to obtain my bachelor degree in the next year and prepare myself for another experience overseas for a master degree.

Thank you again A.C.E!

Randy, wishing you best of luck in all your future endeavors from your A.C.E. family!

Leave a Reply

