First Day of TESOL

Hi everyone! Today is the first day of TESOL 2010 in Boston, and I’m taking a few minutes after lunch to whip up a brief post. I arrived a little after 8 AM to register, and sure was glad I did. More than a few people I’ve spoken to were stuck in it for more than an hour but I seemed to beat the rush. I walked by again at 11:30 and it was easily five times longer! (I made a video but it wordpress son’t accept the format. I’ll do some troubleshooting and hopefully post it later.)

Today I am attending the Graduate Student Forum and so haven’t really ventured into the main exhibition space. TESOL President Mark Algren and several board members and officers attended the opening session, and I presented in the first round at 9:30. My talk was titled “Fortifying Oral/Aural Skills through Visual Restriction.” It seemed to go well, and three of my professors came out to support me. I was glad to get my presentation out of the way and spend the rest of the morning supporting other MA TESOL students from around the country. For the past year and I half I haven’t met many of my peers outside of my own program or Seattle, and it’s refreshing to see what other students are doing.

From noon to 1 PM was the first poster session, and my classmate at SPU presented her work teaching English in the slums of Calcutta. I’ve seen some great presentations and posters so far, but won’t go into them now because it could easily eat up the rest of my afternoon, and the next sessions starts in ten minutes! I guess I better run, but I’ll post again with more details towards the end of the day. Bye from Boston!

–Davey

Leave a Reply

